## Motorsport america .....

## Casey Roberts Dominates Southern Nationals Series Stop at Swainsboro

Story/Photos: Phillip Prichard, MSA

Casey Roberts led flag-to-flag for the \$5,300 payday at Swainsboro Raceway in the Schaeffer's Oil Southern Nationals Series-sanctioned race, on July 24th, the ninth of his career which brought him up to tie with Jonathan Davenport for second on the all-time winners list.

The Toccoa, GA driver drove the Cushman Motorsports, Cushman Paint & Body, M & S Concrete, Allstar Performance, Schaeffer's Racing Oil, VP Racing Fuels and Hoosier Racing Tire-sponsored Custom powered Longhorn Chassis to the victory which finished shortly before 3:00 am after a heavy late afternoon rain shower just before hot laps put the entire show nearly three hours behind.

Fast Qualifier and New Track Record holder Donald McIntosh with a lap of 13.832 and former series winner at Swainsboro Casey Roberts brought the field to life shortly after 2:00 am and Roberts took to the early lead.

By lap 18, Roberts had already worked his way into lapped traffic and was passing the slower cars of Ashton Winger and Brandon Carpenter. Roberts crossed the line for the win nearly a full second ahead of runner-up Dennis Franklin who started sixth, Ross Bailes who passed McIntosh for the third spot on the final lap and Ivedent Lloyd who finished in the fifth spot.

Four cautions slowed the event. The first yellow flag would wave on lap-one as Mark Whitener went over the embankment in turn one. The second yellow flag came out on the restart as three cars piled up in turn four including Steven Roberts, Mack McCarter and Stacy Boles. The lap 11 yellow saw Ashton Winger spinning in turn two and the final yellow of the race came on lap 21 as Vic Hill and Brandon Carpenter got hooked together in turn two.

Feature Results of Southern Nationals Series Round # 3 at Swainsboro Raceway were:

- 1. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, GA
- 2. Dennis Franklin-Gaffney, SC
- 3. Ross Bailes-Clover, SC
- 4. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, GA
- 5. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-Ocala, FL
- 6. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
- 7. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
- 8. Kenny Collins-Colbert, GA
- 9. Brent Dixon-Elberton, GA



Casey Roberts with family, crew and Swainsboro Raceway officials

- 10. Austin Smith-Cedartown, GA
- 11. Kelly Guy-Thomson, GA
- 12. Scott Shirey-Gaston, SC
- 13. Johnny Pursley-Clover, SC
- 14. Mark Dotson-Cameron, MO
- 15. Mark Whitener-Middleburg, FL.
- 16. Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN
- 17. Brandon Carpenter-Grovetown, GA
- 18. Casey Barrow-Savannah, GA
- 19. Steven Roberts-Jesup, GA

- 20. Ashton Winger-Senoia, GA
- 21. Stacy Boles-Clinton, TN
- 22. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, TN

Pearson Lee Williams won the Zaxby's Crate Late Model Race and Johnnie Tucker Jr won the SUNOCO Super Street Race.

Check out swainsbororaceway.com for more information and their upcoming schedule.



Vic Hill and Brandon Carpenter got hooked together in turn two



Donald McIntosh and Casey Roberts win the field to the green flag

## Schaeffer's Oil Southern Nationals Series 2015 Champion

Story/Photos: Phillip Prichard, MSA

Casey Roberts of Toccoa, GA was honored as the 2015 Schaeffer's Oil Southern Nationals Series Champion by clinching the championship by just four points. Roberts had a seventh place finish in the final race of the series at Tazwell Speedway that ate away his points lead. Roberts won at Swainsboro Raceway, Boyd's Speedway and Tri-County Race Track. He also had five top 10 finishes.

Roberts became the sixth different series champion in 11 seasons. Billy Ogle Jr. finished second in the points while Donald McIntosh finished third, Austin Smith finished fourth in the points and Vic Hill came home fifth in the final totals. Craig Vosbergen finished sixth, Mark Dotson finished seventh and Stacy Boles finished eighth in the final points rounding

out the list of eight drivers who traveled to all nine events. A total of 94 drivers competed in at least one series event during the 2015 series that suffered one rainout at Rome Speedway. The series had six different winners in nine races.

Final Series Points:

- 1. Casey Roberts-1,607
- 2. Billy Ogle Jr.-1,603
- 3. Donald McIntosh-1,576
- 4. Austin Smith-1,576
- 5. Vic Hill-1.559
- 6. Craig Vosbergen-1,543
- 7. Mark Dotson-1,479 (Rookie of the Year)
- 8. Stacy Boles-1,457
- 9. Dennis Franklin-853
- 10. Mack McCarter-801

