## **Motorsport** america .....

## Dirt Track Racing

## The National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame 2015 Class Induction

Story/Photos: Phillip Prichard, MSA

The National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame inducted the 2015 Class on 8 August prior to the Florence Speedway/Lucas Oil Late Model Series North/South 100.

Drivers inducted were: Skip Arp of Tennessee; Leon Sells of Georgia; Curt Hansen of Iowa; Davey Johnson of Pennsylvania; and LaVern "Red" Droste of Iowa.

Georgian Leon "Slick" Sells' racing career began in 1953 at the old Canton Speedway driving a 1937 Ford Coupe. Leon participated for the 35 years gathering hundreds of victories in the southeast. He was huge fan favorite. He would race head-to head with fellow Hall of Famers, Bud Lunsford, Buck Simmons, Leon Archer, Doug Kenimer, Charlie Hughes, Mike Head and many more at Dixie Speedway, Rome Speedway, Toccoa, Peach Bowl, Senoia, West Atlanta, Jeffco and many more. He ran in the Mickey Swim's TriRacing Circuit, the Southern All-Stars, the Southern Auto Racing Association and the NDRA. Leon also worked as a truck driver or Yellow Freight for 35 years. He was a true independent, most of the time owning his own equipment and relying on his own financial resources to compete. He retired in 1988; his final race was at Dixie Speedway. The 79 year old is a well deserving member of the 2015 class.

Tennessean Skip Arp's racing career has spanned 34 years with 150 feature wins. He has participated in many crown



Leon Sells Receiving his NDLMHOF Plaque and jacket from NDLMHOF President Gerald Newton and Driver Legend Larry Moore

jewel races including the World 100, The Dream, Topless 100 and more. In 1994, he was the top gun in the Hav-A-Tampa series. In addition to his outstanding driving career, he is known to be the first to have changed the left rear shock location to the rear of the axle to increase traction. In addition of his prestige induction in the NDRHOF, he also received the Sportsman Award in 2008.

Eddie Carrier Jr. received the Sportsman Award: Lifetime Achievement

Awards went to Craig Cowan and Butch Shay. Contributor awards went to Al Frieden as Car Owner and Promoter; Wayne Kindness, Journalist and Jim Butler, Photographer. The National Dirt Late Model Hall

The National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame, also unveiled the plans for the additional and revamping of the museum building that has out grown its present building. An auction was held earlier in the day that raised over \$6000. The museum, located in Union, KY showcases Dirt Late Model Racing's rich history. The museum showcases legends of Dirt Late Model Racing, honoring outstanding achievers, and it salutes drivers, owners, mechanics, officials, and media members who have made a significant impact on the sport.

There is no admission fee for the museum but they accept donations and memberships. Check out the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame at ndlmhof. wordpress.com. Better yet sign up to be a supporting member.





From valve covers right down to the tires... PRC takes care of your racing car needs!

- Custom Radiators
- Chassis Parts
- Drive Trains













Precision Race Cars 8681 S, Flatrock Road Douglasville, GA 30134

1-888-715-7223

Fax: 770-942-8417 Phone: 770-942-7682 **www.prcinc.com** 



Unveiling of Drawings of the Addition and Revamping of the NDLMHOF