## Motorsport america

## Stewart-Haas Racing, Ford Performance to Team Up Starting with 2017 NASCAR Season

- · NASCAR championship team to switch to Ford cars and engines for 2017 season
- · Ford's multiyear agreement with Stewart-Haas Racing will add four entries to strengthen the company's lineup in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
- · Addition of race team enhances Ford Performance global strategy to bring product development and racing technology innovations to its vehicles and customers

Ford Performance announced today Stewart-Haas Racing will switch to Ford as its auto manufacturer partner starting with the 2017 NASCAR season.

The multiyear agreement means that, beginning with Daytona Speedweeks in February 2017, the four-car Stewart-Haas Racing team will race the Ford Fusion with Ford engines prepared by Roush Yates Engines.

"We are thrilled to be able to add a championship-level team like Stewart-Haas Racing to our Ford NASCAR program," said Raj Nair, executive vice president and Chief Technical Officer, Ford Motor Company. "Tony Stewart and Gene Haas have the same passion for winning that we do, and bring a strong stable of drivers and personnel that fit into what we're trying to do in the sport."

"We have said very clearly that we are not in NA-



SCAR just to race, but to win races and championships," said Dave Pericak, global director, Ford Performance. "We believe the addition of Stewart-Haas Racing in 2017 will give our program a major boost in terms of being in contention for both drivers' and manufacturers' championships every year.

"We believe that our NASCAR engineering experience and tools match up very well with the expertise and personnel that Stewart-Haas Racing has in house right now, and that we will both benefit from this partnership going forward."

Stewart-Haas Racing will join a Ford NASCAR lineup for 2017 that includes Team Penske, Roush Fenway Racing, Wood Brothers Racing, Richard Petty Motorsports and Front Row Motorsports. Roush Yates Engines is Ford's technical partner for NASCAR race engines.

Stewart-Haas Racing will continue its current manufacturer relationship throughout the 2016 season.

Stewart-Haas Racing is a NASCAR championship organization that features drivers Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick, Danica Patrick and Kurt Busch. Stewart, Harvick and Busch have won Sprint Cup titles and Patrick was a winner in the Indycar Series before transitioning to NASCAR. Stewart-Haas Racing has captured 30 pointspaying wins, 26 poles and two titles since its inception in 2009.

Clint Bowyer will replace Stewart in the No. 14 car in 2017, as Stewart will retire as a NASCAR driver following the 2016 season. Stewart and Haas will remain co-owners of Stewart-Haas Racing.

## NASCAR announces nominees for NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2017

Legendary engine builders, crew chiefs, owners, drivers and the most recognizable voice in motorsports. The talents, eras and levels may differ, but all share a common thread. They shaped NASCAR, and are recognized as nominees for the highest honor the sport bestows – enshrinement into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

- **Buddy Baker**, won 19 times in NA-SCAR's premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern
- **Red Byron**, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949
- Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series
- Ray Evernham, three-time NASCAR premier series championship crew chief
- Ray Fox, legendary engine builder, crew chief and car owner
- Rick Hendrick, 14-time car owner

champion in NASCAR's three national series

- Ron Hornaday, four-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion
- Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR premier series championship crew chief
- Alan Kulwicki, 1992 NASCAR premier series champion
- Mark Martin, 96-time race winner in NASCAR national series competition
- Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series champion
- Raymond Parks, NASCAR's first champion car owner
- Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR premier series champion
- Larry Phillips, only five-time NA-SCAR weekly series national champion
- Jack Roush, five-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series
- Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NA-SCAR's premier series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400

- Ken Squier, legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner/namesake of Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence
- Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships
- Waddell Wilson, won three NASCAR premier series championships as an engine builder
- Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner

The five nominees for the Landmark Award, listed alphabetically, are as follows...

- **H. Clay Earles**, founder of Martinsville Speedway
- Janet Guthrie, the first female to compete in a NASCAR premier series superspeedway race
- Raymond Parks, NASCAR's first champion car owner



Ralph Seagraves, formed groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as executive with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company

• Ken Squier, legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner / namesake of Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence



LEO J. CAGLIANI TERRY D. SMITH

SPECIALIZING IN EXIDE BATTERIES, INDUSTRIAL ALTERNATORS, STARTERS & D.C. MOTORS

770-941-0003

C&S Auto Electric •7020 Mableton Pkwy • Mableton, GA 30126