Drag

Wilkesboro Dragway honors Champions & releases 2016 Schedule

On Saturday evening, February 6th 2016, the 2015 Wilkesboro Dragway racing season champions were in the spotlight as trophy's and accolades were handed out during the annual awards banquet.

In Top ET,Clyde McKinney took home the championship with Jr Hodges finishing a close second. Mitchel McKinney, Bill Ferguson and Roger Robertson rounded out the top five.

In Modified ET, Phillip Harrison backed up his 2014 championship, defending his title with a Modified ET 2015 Championship win. The Daddy/Daughter combo of Hannah and Timbo Blevins finished second and forth respectively while four time Wilkesboro Dragway "Modified" champion Johnny Hodges, took home third and 2012 "Modified" champion Dennis Coffey, finished fifth.

In the "Street Division", Charles Pendley edged out the young standout Catrina Shannon to win the 2015 "Street Division" Championship. Brandon Carlton finished third; 2014 champion Debbie Trivette finished the season in fourth place and Jim Goddard finished in fifth place.

The 2016 season opens March 26th with a no prep pure street car race featuring BOOSTED GT. The Wilkesboro Dragway 2016 "Points Series" starts for all divisions on April 2nd along with the fans favorites, "The Classic Gear Jammers"!

Wilkesboro Dragway has streamlined it's 2016 schedule for the pleasure of all our fans. The first week of each month, beginning in April thru October, points racing for all divisions as well as the "Classic Gear Jammers" will be providing their own brand of high flying action. The second week of each month, the speedsters of the WSC 490 Outlaws will join the points series action, and on the third Saturday we will feature the wild Pure Street cars!

Make your plans to visit Wilkesboro Dragway this season. Your family, friendly playground of speed in Wilkes County!

For more infomation on these and other exciting events at Wilkesboro Dragway and to download your 2016 schedule, please visitwww.wilkesborodragway.com or call (336) 973- RACE (7223).



Pictured left to right: co-track owner Pat Halbedel, Street champ Charles Pendley, Mod champ Phillip Harrison, Top champ Clyde McKinney, co-owner Phil Halbedel. (Story & photo by Kevin Thorne)





PRITCHETT WINS FIRST IN TOP FUEL; WLIKERSON, LINE ALSO SCORE PHOENIX TITLES: Leah Pritchett raced to her first Top Fuel victory Sunday at the CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals. Tim Wilkerson (Funny Car) and Jason Line (Pro Stock) also picked up victories at the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series event at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park in Phoenix. In Funny Car, Wilkerson earned his 19th career victory and first in Phoenix, taking out longtime rival John Force with a run of 3.937 at 320.43 in his Levi, Ray & Shoup Ford Shelby Mustang. Force trailed with a 4.016 at 275.34 in his Peak Chevy Camaro. "I am just happy to be here," said Wilkerson, who moves to fifth in the points order with the win. "We're very excited about what happened here today. That's the best run we had all weekend [in the final]."

Did You Know?

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE AND NHRA J&A SERVICE PRO MOD SERIES BEGINS 2016 SEASON AT AMALIE MOTOR OIL NHRA GATORNATIONALS:

The Pro Stock Motorcycle class and the NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Series will make their 2016 debuts during the running of the AMALIE Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals, March 17-20 at Gainesville Raceway in Florida. Andrew Hines will be in pursuit of his sixth world championship and third consecutive championship in the two-wheeled category. Teammate Eddie Krawiec, Matt Smith, Hector Arana Jr. and Steve Johnson will all aim to win at the season opening event. Troy Coughlin is the defending NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Series world champion and will again be behind the wheel of his distinctive JEGS Mail Order 2015 Corvette. Mike Janis, Bob Rahaim and Rickie Smith are a few of the other championship contenders heading into the new season.

Inside the Numbers

1982: The year the last all-female Top Fuel final took place before the final of Leah Pritchett and Brittany Force in Phoenix on Feb. 28th. In '82 Shirley Muldowney defeated Lucille Lee in Columbus, Ohio, and it is only the fourth time two women have decided a pro class victory in the Mello Yello Series. Angelle Sampey and Karen Stoffer have met twice in finals in Pro Stock Motorcycle, most recently at Norwalk last season. Pritchett used a quicker reaction time and a performance of 3.775 seconds at 323.12 mph in her Quaker State dragster to finish in front of Brittany Force's 3.774 at 321.35 in her Monster Energy dragster. Pritchett outran J.R. Todd, Clay Millican and Antron Brown in the first three rounds before defeating Force in the final. She is the 16th woman to win a Mello Yello Series race and the eighth female to win in the Top Fuel category. "It is the happiest day of my life, besides getting married of course," said Pritchett, who posted a runner-up finish in her only other Top Fuel final, last season at Atlanta. "This is what dreams are made of. I feel like I just won the Super Bowl, even though it's only the second race and it's not the U.S. Nationals, for me it's an incredible personal and professional victory to be able to compete with the team that I'm with."

