Motorsport america.....

AMS RESURFACING PROJECT PUT ON HOLD

After an in-depth review and exhaustive consultations with NASCAR, Goodyear, race teams and drivers, Atlanta Motor Speedway has elected to postpone its plan to resurface the 20-year-old 1.54-mile racing surface at least until after its 2018 NASCAR weekend.

The aged, abrasive surface, last paved in 1997 when the track was reconfigured into its current quad-oval layout, is well-known for producing slick and challenging racing conditions and causes some of the fastest tire fall-off of any track on the circuit. AMS is a favorite among many active drivers in all three of NASCAR's national touring series, and a large number of them voiced their preference to delay the new surface.

After originally announcing plans to resurface in January, AMS will continue a meticulous maintenance program in an effort to maintain the surface and prevent further deterioration. Additionally, patch work on the current asphalt will be com-

pleted where necessary. Track officials will reevaluate its condition following the 2018 triple-header NASCAR weekend and determine then whether to resume the resurfacing plans, which called for new asphalt to be lain over top the current surface.

"We appreciate all of the input we have received from key individuals in the NASCAR industry, as well as our customers," said Ed Clark, Atlanta Motor Speedway president. "The overwhelming majority have urged us to hold off on paving so that we can enjoy at least one more weekend of high-speed slipping and sliding in 2018 before the new surface is installed."

Since it was paved in 1997, the track has hosted 32 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series races, 20 NASCAR XFIN-ITY Series races, 16 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races, eight ARCA Racing Series races, four IndyCar Series races and countless U.S. Legends and



Bandolero car races on its quarter-mile "Thunder Ring."

NASCAR racing returns to Atlanta Motor Speedway in 2018 for its 58th straight year with adrenaline-pumping action from

all three national touring series. For more information or to purchase tickets, contact the Atlanta Motor Speedway ticket office at (770) 946-4211, (877) 9-AMS-TIX or visit www.atlantamotorspeedway.com.

Polls Open for NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Fan Vote

Polls are now open for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Fan Vote. Fans are asked to cast votes for up to five nominees for inclusion into the Class of 2018, and can vote up to 50 times per day. The five



nominees who receive the most votes will count as one of the 54 votes cast by the Voting Panel on NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Day on May 24.

WHERE: NASCAR.com/ halloffamehttp://www.nascar.com/halloffame

The following 20 nominees will be voted upon for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame:

- Davey Allison, won 19 times in NA-SCAR's premier (now Monster Energy NASCAR Cup) series, including the 1992 Daytona 500
- Buddy Baker, won 19 times in NA-SCAR's premier series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500
- Red Byron, first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949

- Ray Evernham, three-time NASCAR premier series championship crew chief
- Red Farmer, three-time Late Model Sportsman champion; 1956 Modified champion
- Ray Fox, legendary engine builder, crew chief and car owner
- Joe Gibbs, combined for nine car owner championships in premier and XFINITY series
- Ron Hornaday Jr., four-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion
- Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR premier series championship crew chief
- Alan Kulwicki, 1992 NASCAR premier series champion
- Bobby Labonte, won a championship in both the premier series and XFINITY Series
- Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series champion
- Roger Penske, combined for four car

owner championships in premier and XFINITY series

- Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion
- Jack Roush, five-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series
- Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NA-SCAR's premier series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400
- Ken Squier, legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner/namesake of Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence
- Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships
- Waddell Wilson, won three NASCAR premier series championships as an engine builder
- Robert Yates, won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner



