## Short Track: Dixie Speedway

## Morgan Turpen Captures 2nd Win of Season at Dixie Speedway

Story & photos by: Phillip Prichard, MSA Defending United Sprint Car Series National Champion Morgan Turpen of Cordova, TN breezed to her second USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Presented by K&N Filters victory of the season at Dixie Speedway. The trip to the USCS Victory Lane after winning the 30-lap feature race for the "Queen of the Wings" could turn out to be the most important one of the season for Turpen, as she came into the evening with just a two-point lead over her teammate and mentor, 11-time USCS National Champion Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN. Turpen gained another point on Gray, who finished second. The win was Turpen's ninth of her USCS career. There was some urgency in Turpen's voice as she celebrated the win because her lifestyle will be making a big change this fall when she becomes a fulltime teacher. This season will be her final opportunity to repeat as the USCS National Champion, as she goes into the next USCS event with a three-point lead over Gray.

Matt Linder of Hoschton, GA finished in the third place and Eric Riggins Jr. of

Charlotte, NC took the fourth spot. Fifth went to Nick Snyder of Marco Island, FL who earlier won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat.

David Hall of Tampa, FL posted a wire-to-wire win in the 20-lap www.rockauto. com USCS 600 Sprint Car Series winged mini sprint feature race at Dixie Speedway. Hall held off the charges of Aubrey Black II of Lookout Mountain, TN who finished in the runner-up spot after chasing Hall in and out of lapped traffic and running a low line around the 3/8 mile



**DAVID HALL ON WAY TO WIN** 



**4 WIDE SALUTE** 

D-shaped historic speedway. Black was followed by defending series National Champion Remeno Loyal of Snellville, GA. In the K&N Filters Podium Award third place. 2014 Southern region Champion, Bob Trapino of Alpharetta, GA was fourth. Hall's team-mate and April 22nd I-75 Raceway feature winner, Dirk Miller of Tampa, FL took the fifth spot.

Frank Ingram won the SUPER LATE MODEL Race followed by Jason Croft, Michael Page, Lamar Haygood and Eric Granger.

In the STEELHEAD LATE MODEL Race, Jason Smith in the 84 took the checkered flag. Followed by Zach Pilcher, Scottie Pritchett, Ronnie Haynes, and Chuck Padgett.

Bobby Richey won the CRATE LATE MODELS Race followed by Jeff Smith, Justin Shipley, Jason Deal and Ethan Hunter. Justin Shipley drove the Number 80 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in the Aspen Dental Eldora Dirt Derby at Eldora Speedway.

The other winners were: SUPER BOMB-ERS, 22 - Alan Brewer; ECONOMY BOMBERS BOMBERS, 00 - Dalton Polston; and STREET STINGERS, 17 -Cody Sisson.

Visit http://www.uscsracing.com/ for more information and the 2016 schedule of the United Sprint Car Series. Also, visit http://www.dixiespeedway.com/ for Dixie and Rome Speedways information.





MORGAN TOOK THE CHECKERED FLAG