## Jimmy Owens Wins National 100 at East Alabama Speedway

By Phillip Prichard, MSA Jimmy Owens led flag to flag in the National 100 Super Late Model Feature, earning him the \$20,000 race purse and an additional \$5000 in lap money. This was Owens second victory in four years at the Alabama event. The win was Owens first win since April of 2015. Owen's drove a brand new Barry Wright Race Car powered by a Cornett Racing Engine, sponsored by Midwest Sheet Metal, Ohlins Shocks, Red Line Oil, Sunoco Race Fuels and Widox Wax. Owens was, also, the fastest qualifier with a time of 14.842.

Owens started on the front row alongside of Chris Madden. Owens powered ahead of Madden at the drop of the green securing the lead. He held off challenges by Randy Weaver and Clint Smith for the 100 lap event.

Seven caution flags slowed the pace: On





**Jimmy Owens at EAMS** 

lap 11, James Roulette slowed due to damage; on lap 16 Kelly Guy had a flat tire; on lap 37, Scott Bloomquist slowed on the track; on laps 46 and 47, Mike Nasworthy drew out the caution; 0n lap 68, Dennis "Rambo" Franklin slowed in turn 2 while running fourth; and on lap 68, Casey Roberts and Tyler Millwood tangled.

Randy Weaver finished second, Clint Smith third, Dennis Erb Jr. charged from the 11th starting position to finish fourth and Jason Hiett rounded out the top five.

In other Super Late Model action: The top 6 in Heat 1 were Jimmy Owens, Randy Weaver, Brandon Overton, Devin Moran, Clint Smith, and Mike Nasworthy; the top 6 in Heat 2 were: Chris Madden, Jason Hiett, Dennis Franklin, Dennis Erb Jr., Mike Spatola, and Austin Hortn; and the top 6 in Heat 3 were: Scott Bloomquist, Joe Armisteasd, Casey Roberts, Steve Francis, Tim McCreadie and Tyler Millwood. The top six transferred to the A Main Feature Race.

In Friday night action, Chris Madden won the Race of Champions Race that consisted of previous winners of the National 100. Madden powered by Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis and Clint Smith for

## the victory.

Corey Hedgecock won the Crate Late Model Feature. The second through fifth finishers were: Montana Dudley, Matt Henderson, Cale Conley, and Chase Edge.

In the Limited Late Model Feature, Jason Hiett was the victor with Montana Dudley finishing second; third was Jimmy Sharpe Jr; fourth was Dwayne Johnson and fifth was Mark Whitner.

Other winners were:

Modified Feature – Richie Stephens Super Street Feature - Joseph Brown Bomber Feature – Steven Jenson Cruiser Feature – Gator Berryhill

A tip of the cap goes out the East Alabama track crew who crunched four days of racing into three days to get ahead of the rain that came in on Sunday. East Alabama Speedway is the home of the National 100, the Bama Bash, the Alabama State Championships plus many events each year. Visit www.eamsdirt.com for more information.

Photos: MSA Staff



**Richie Stephens Winner of EAMS Modified Race** 



From valve covers right down to the tires... PRC takes care of your racing car needs!

- Custom Radiators
- Chassis Parts
- Drive Trains













Precision Race Cars 8681 S, Flatrock Road Douglasville, GA 30134

1-888-715-7223 Fax: 770-942-8417 Phone: 770-942-7682 www.prcinc.com