otorsport Talladega Short Track 23rd Annual Ice Bowl Weekend 2014

By Phillip Prichard, Photos by Fred Hanyon & Phillip Prichard, MSA The 23rd Annual Ice Bowl Weekend at the Talladega Short Track concluded on Sunday, 5 January with three action packed late model races - Super Late Models, Limited Late Model and Crate Late Models. Also, a Bomber Class race and B-Mains for each of the classes provided a limited number of fans an exciting day. The weathermen predicted a cold rainy day but they were wrong, a partially sunny day with temperatures in the high forties prevailed. The weather forecast kept a number of fans from attending. The annual four-day event drew 320 cars in all of the classes; drivers from 11 dif-



ferent states were in attendance. In addition to the three late model races, support classes of Street Stocks and KMSA races were held on Saturday. The Thunder Car/ Bombers Series race was held on Sunday. Williams Thomas (19T) started on the outside of Row 1 in the 50 lap Super Late Model in the A Main. Thomas maintained second place for most of the race, battling with Eric Cooley, but on the final lap, he took the lead in turn four. Thomas took the checkered lap and the \$6000 pay day. Cooley started on the pole and he dominated most of the race. Cooley had a qualifying time of 14.708 versus Thomas's qualifying time of 14.813. Cooley led most of the race but he tangled with a lap car on lap 38 of the race. Thomas took the

lead as the caution flag waved but Cooley was given the first place back by race officials after the encounter. Thomas in his normal cool, calculating manner waited for the right time to take the win. Cooley (33B) finished second, Ross Martin (47M) was third, Lavon Sparks (11) was fourth and Todd Marrow (T1) was fifth. Sixth through Tenth Places went to Billy Ogle Jr. (201) of Knoxville, TN, Ray Cook (53) of Brasstown, NC, Skip Freeman (15X) of Pell City, AL, Chris Jones (46) of Alabaster, AL and Tim Roszell (6) of Coldwater, AL. Super Late Model Heat Race Winners on Saturday were Thomas (19T), Martin (47M), and Sparks (11). Sunday B Mains winners were Tommy Bailey of Corbin, KY, Mark Haddon of Estill Springs, TN, Joe Armistead of Senoia, Ga and Tom Maddox of Centre, AL

2013 Cruise with the Champions/Dirt on Dirt Southern All Star Rookie of Year Bret Holes received the Racecar Engineering Hard Charger award as moved from 24th place to finish 11th. Levi Hicks in the 4H of Andrews, NC

started on the pole of the Limited Late Model Race. In a commanding fashion, he led the race and took the checkered flag of the 30 lap A-Main.

Mark Page (118) of Canton, GA finished second, Andy Morris (40) of Canton, GA was third, Tom Maddox(33T) of Centre, AL was fourth and Dallas Cooper (35) of Talladega, AL was fifth. Heat race winners were Hicks (4H), Morris (40), Andy Picklesimer (1P) of Ooltewah, TN, Brian Hester (83) of Dudley, GA, Todd Hernandez (T6) of Chattanooga, TN and Aaron Miller of Crane Hill, AL. Ray Cook (53) of Brasstown, NC started on the outside of Row 1 in the 40 lap Crate Late Model Race. He was the dominate car for the entire race. Cook took the



\$3000 first place prize money. Mark Page of Winston, GA (118) ran second but he came up light on the scales giving second to Logan Yates (5Y) of Lineville, AL, Jeff Smith (17S) of Chatsworth, GSA was third, Jamie Oliver(38) of Murphy, NC was fourth and Larry Timms (07) of Hodges, SC was fifth. Jeff Smith started in 18th and battled is way to the 3rd at the conclusion of the race. Heat race winners were Chris Noah (56N) of Rainbow City, AL, Ray Cook (53), Dustin Stewart of Eastaboga, AL and Jason Welshan (29W) of Maryville, TN. B Main winners were Chip Brindle (38C) of Dalton, GA and Jeff Smith (17S). A special tip of the hat goes to 82 year-old Red Farmer in the 97F. He did not make



it to the A Main in the Crate Late Model Race, but he is still doing what he loves to do – racing.

Check out the Talladega Stock Track website at www.talladegashorttrack.com for the 2014 track schedule plus other information.









6 · JANUARY 2014 · www.MotorsportAmerica.com