

2012 2013 AND THE 2014 FALL WINNERS



REFRESHINGLY HARD APPLE GIRLS



MAYBE NEXT YEAR JIMMY!



LONG HARD RIDE HOME



(Continued from page 8)

Three of the Hendrick Motorsport drivers-Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earhardt Jr and Kasey Kahne were eliminated from the Chase. Kyle Busch was also eliminated. The eight drivers advancing to the Eliminator Round are: Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Ryan Newman, Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth, Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon and Brad Keselowski.

On Saturday, NASCAR used a different qualifying format, breaking the first session into two groups and shortening the session to 5 minutes. Several teams did not leave pit road on time during the first session to get a lap at full speed. Therefore, drivers having to take provisionals were: Stewart, Hamlin, Harvick, Logano, Busch, Larson and Gordon.

Six of the Chase drivers did not advance to the second session of qualifying and they started in the following positions: Earnhardt Jr, 28th; Hamlin, 38th; Harvick, 39th; Logano, 40th; Ky Busch, 41st and Gordon, 43rd.

Brian Vickers won the Coors Light Pole for the GEICO 500 Sprint Cup Series race with a speed of 196.129 mph for his first pole of 2014, 1st Talladega and 12th of his career. Stenhouse Jr, Allgaier and Nemechek missed qualifying for the race.

Terry Labonte ran his final Sprint Cup race at Talladega, ending a Sprint Cup career that began in 1978. Of his 22 wins, he might be remembered best for the race he didn't win. It was the 1999 Bristol night race when Dale Earnhardt meant to "rattle his cage" but instead spun Labonte out of the lead on the final lap. Labonte qualified 9th and finished 33rd.

"Deganation" was treated to an action packed weekend of racing with history being made with the elimination of the four drivers from the round of the Chase. The next NASCAR Talladega event will be the Winn Dixie 300 on May 2, 2015 and The Talladega 500 on May 3, 2015.

Visit www.talladegasuperspeedway.com for additional details.



THANKS COOKIE AND THE DEGA NATION CREW FOR THE HOSPITALITY!!!



NOVEMBER · 2014 · www.MotorsportAmerica.com · 9