Motorsport america.....

Porsche GTLM 911 - Overall Winner of the Petit Lemans at Road Atlanta

Story: Phillip Prichard, MSA

The TRG Porche 911 driven by the 24 Hours of Le Mans overall winner Nick Tandy and co-piloted by Patrick Pilet scored the overall win of the Petit Lemans. The rear engine in the Porsche proved extremely useful in the wet race and the factory Porsches were around two seconds quicker than its competition. Tandy's win capped off a race where the No. 911 Porsche led overall five different times. The win propelled co-driver Patrick Pilet to the GTLM driver's title.

Saturday proved to be a challenging day at Road Atlanta for the Tudor SportCar Championship. Rain persisted all day from a drizzle to downpours. Unfortunately, there was more standing water than ever on the track. The 10-hour scheduled race was called at the 8-Hour mark due to the rain and visibility issues as darkness approached. The rain did not deter fans and they packed almost every opening around the track.

John Edwards. Lucas Luhr and Jens Klingman finished second in the Number 24 BMW/IHG Rewards Club BMW Z4 GTLM, to take the second overall win.

Action Express Racing claimed back-to-back TUDOR United SportsCar Championship titles, following a Prototype class victory in the Petit Le Mans powered by Mazda.

The No. 5 Corvette DP of Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi and Sebastien

Bourdais finished third overall, behind the historic 1-2 overall finish for the Porsche and BMW GT Le Mans cars. It was enough for the class win and championship for Barbosa and Fittipaldi, their and the team's second consecutive. Additionally, the team claimed Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup honors.

It was a race to forget for VisitFlorida. com Racing, which headed into the weekend as P class championship leaders but lost out on the title after a pair of costly mistakes. Both Michael Valiante and Mike Rockenfeller had separate offs in Turn 12 in the third hour, costing the No. 90 Corvette DP two laps. They, along with pole-sitter Richard Westbrook finished 12th overall and fifth in class.

The Prototype Challenge title was decided early in the race, with the CORE Autosport Oreca-Chevrolet driven by Jon Bennett, Colin Braun and Anthony Lazzaro took their second straight championship, despite the fact the car finished 29th of the 36 starters The Proto type Challenge winner was the ORECA FLM09, Number 52, driven by Mike Guasch, Tom Kimber-Smith and Andrew Palmer.

In GT Daytona, Scuderia Corsa has captured the championship with Townsend Bell and Bill Sweedler. The two combined with Jeff Segal to finish fourth unofficially, driving the No. 63 Ferrari 458 Italia.

On Friday, Stevenson Motorsports



clinched the 2015 IMSA Continential Tire SportsCar Championship. Robin Liddell and Andrew Davis combined for a second place finish in the Number 6 Camaro Z.28R. Their effort also generated the Manufactuerurs Championship for Chevrolet. The Friday race was won by the Number 46 BMW piloted by Hindman and Freiberg.

During the off season, the series

will have a name change to the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, with Tudor taking a long-term role as the presenting sponsor. The first race of 2016 will be the Rolex 24 at Daytona on January 30-31. This will mark the first time times will get to experience the \$400 million Daytona Rising renovation project.

Photos, page 8 & 9: MSA Staff





8.OCT / NOV 2015 · www.MotorsportAmerica.com