

Polls Now Open for NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Fan Vote

The polls are now open for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Fan Vote. For the 10th consecutive year, fans are asked to cast votes for up to five nominees for inclusion into the Class of 2019, and can vote up to 50 times per day. The five nominees who receive the most votes will count as one of the ballots cast by the Voting Panel on NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Day on May 23. The polls close on May 21.

Go to NASCAR.com/halloffame and cast your votes!

NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Nominees

Davey Allison, won 19 times in NASCAR's premier (now Monster Energy NASCAR Cup) series, including the 1992 Daytona 500
 Buddy Baker, won 19 times in NASCAR's premier series, including the Daytona 500 and

Southern 500
• Red Farmer, three-time Late Model Sportsman

champion; 1956 Modified champion • Ray Fox, legendary engine builder, crew chief and car owner

 Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR premier series races, including two Southern 500 victories
 Joe Gibbs, combined for nine car owner

championships in premier and XFINITY series • Jeff Gordon, four-time champion and winner of 93 NASCAR premier series races

• John Holman, won two NASCAR premier series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

• Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR premier series championship crew chief

Alan Kulwicki, 1992 NASCAR premier series champion

 Bobby Labonte, won a championship in both the premier series and XFINITY Series
 Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series

champion
• Ralph Moody, won two NASCAR premier

series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

 Roger Penske, combined for four car owner championships in premier and XFINITY series
 Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion

• Jack Roush, five-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series

• Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NASCAR's premier series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400 • Kirk Shelmerdine, winner of four NASCAR

rk Sneimeraine, winner of four NASCAR

premier series championships as a crew chief • Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships • Waddell Wilson, won three NASCAR premier series championships as an engine builder

MSA Favorites:



Red Farmer



Alan Kulwicki



Davey Allison



Let's go to 'Dega! Race Preview by Jenelle Hanyon

Date: Sunday, April 29, 2018 **Location:** Talladega Superspeedway - Talladega, AL

Time: 2:00 p.m. ET

Defending Champion: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Texas/Bristol and Richmond in April, then there's the Geico 500 at Talladega Su-

perspeedway in Alabama on April 29, 2018. The legendary Talladega Motor Speedway seven times, while Woods Brothers Racing, Ranier-Lundy and Richard Childress Racing have four wins. Joe Gibbs Racing and Bud Moore Engineering have three wins, while six teams have two wins.

Chevrolet has 19 wins, Ford has 11 wins. Mercury and Oldsmobile have four wins, while Buick has two wins, Pontiac and Toyota have two wins.



will host two Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series races this year. The Geico 500 is one of four restrictor plate races held each season in NASCAR, which means fast speeds and a lot of wrecks. The big, 2.7-mile Talladega Superspeedway track is known for races with lots of passing, and three-wide battles in the turns.

Last year, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. passed Kyle Busch on the final lap in NASCAR Overtime to win the Geico 500., It was the first Cup win for the Roush Fenway Racing driver. With the victory, he qualified for the playoffs for the first time in his career.

Jeff Gordon holds the record for most wins in this race with four. A total of nine drivers including defending champion Brad Keselowski have won this race three times, while Mark Martin and Jimmie Johnson have two wins.

Hendrick Motorsports has won this race



You need to plan to attend one of the three races which include ARCA on Friday; Xfinity on Saturday and the Big Boy's on Sunday.

Tickets are available at talladega.boxofficeticketsales.com

Photos: MSA Archives



MARCH / APRIL 2018 • www.MotorsportAmerica.com • 13