Motorsport america

William Byron Wins 2017 NASCAR XFINITY Series Championship

Also Takes Sunoco Rookie of the Year; No. 22 Team Penske Ford Captures Owners Title; Chevrolet Wins Bill France Performance Cup as Top Manufacturer

William Byron's meteoric NASCAR rise continued Saturday, as the 19-year-old added two more superlatives to an already lengthy list – 2017 NASCAR XFINITY Series Champion and 2017 NASCAR XFINITY Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year. Byron is only the second driver to win the XFINITY Series championship in his rookie season (Chase Elliott, 2014).

Following an extraordinary rookie campaign, the NASCAR Next graduate, who finished third, outlasted his Championship 4 competitors Elliott Sadler (eighth), Justin Allgaier (12th) and Daniel Hemric (34th) in the Ford EcoBoost 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway to



capture his second NASCAR title. He also won the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East championship in 2015. With the 2017 championship, Byron – at 19 years, 11 months and 20 days – is the second-youngest champion in series history (Elliott was 18 years, 11 months, 18 days).

This season, Byron drove the No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet to four wins, 12 top fives and 22 top 10s. His victories came at Iowa, Daytona, Indianapolis and Phoenix, which helped propel him to a lofty position in the standings – from race No. 2-33, he never dropped lower than fifth in the standings.

Byron's ascent to the top level of the sport will continue in 2018, as Hendrick Motorsports announced that he will drive the iconic No. 24 Chevrolet in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

Byron is the fourth member of the NASCAR Next program to win a NASCAR national series championship (Chase Elliott, NASCAR XFINITY Series, 2014; Erik Jones, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, 2015; Daniel Suarez, NASCAR XFINITY Series, 2016).

With its second-place finish, the No. 22 Ford won the 2017 NASCAR XFINITY Series Owner Championship for Team Penske, the organization's fourth XFINITY Series owner title. This season, the No. 22 was piloted by Ryan Blaney (11 races), Brad Keselowski (nine), Joey Logano (seven), Sam Hornish Jr. (five) and Austin Cindric (one race).



Chevrolet, on the strength of 12 victories, clinched the Bill France Performance Cup – the manufacturers' championship – in the NASCAR XFINITY Series. Because Chevrolet owned a more than 40-point lead in the standings following Phoenix, the automaker clinched the title one race early. It is Chevrolet's 18th Bill France Performance Cup win.

Christopher Bell Wins 2017 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship Briscoe Takes Sunoco Rookie of the Year; Toyota Captures Manufacturer Title

Youth has been served once more in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

Christopher Bell, 22, completed an outstanding sophomore campaign by capturing the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship following Ford EcoBoost 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

To capture the crown, Bell, who finished second, outdueled fellow Championship 4 contenders Johnny Sauter (third-place finish), Austin Cindric (fifth) and Matt Crafton (sixth) at the South Florida track.

At 22 years, 11 months, 1 day, Bell is the fourth-youngest champion in

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series history.

Scoring a series-high five wins and winning the regular season championship, Bell dominated the 2017 season to earn a second-consecutive spot in the Championship 4. Bell punched his ticket to the playoffs early, winning the second race of the season at Atlanta. From there he continued his winning ways with regular season victories at Texas, Kentucky and Pocono. Bell's momentum continued in the playoffs, where he captured a win in the playoff opener at New Hampshire.

Bell finished this season with five wins, and series highs in both top fives (15) and



top 10s (21).

A former dirt standout, Bell will run fulltime with Joe Gibbs Racing in the NASCAR XFINITY Series in 2018.

Bell's No. 4 Toyota won the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Owner Championship, the fifth consecutive title for Kyle Busch Motorsports, and sixth overall. The No. 4 Toyota also won the owner title in 2015 with driver Erik Jones.

Chase Briscoe captured the 2017

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year. Driving for Brad Keselowski Racing, Briscoe ended the season in stirring fashion, collecting his career-first win, at Homestead, to collect his 10th top five of the season.

Toyota won its record-extended 10th Manufacturers Championship, and fifth in a row. After a strong season that included 12 victories.



12 · DECEMBER 2017 / JANUARY 2018 · www.MotorsportAmerica.com